NJ correctional police officer viciously assaulted by inmate
The inmate punched the officer in the face numerous times, dragged him across the floor and continually kicked him
By Chris Sheldon
NJ Advance Media Group
TRENTON, N.J. — A corrections officer at a New Jersey state prison was assaulted Tuesday morning by a prisoner, and was left with several contusions and bruising to his face and head, officials said.
The attack happened moments after the inmate was released from his cell at 6:43 a.m. as he walked over to the officer’s podium and punched him in the face numerous times, according to a from New Jersey State Policeman’s Benevolent Association Local 105.
He then dragged the officer across the floor and continually kicked him as other officers tried to restrain the prisoner and get him into a holding cell, authorities said. Those officers were “physically assaulted” in the process.
Neither the officer nor the prisoner were identified in the statement, but a picture of the officer’s face following the attack was shown.
The president of the union, which represents the state’s 6,000 active corrections officers, said he was disturbed by the attack and the possible financial ramifications it could have on the man.
“Throughout my years in the department of corrections, I have seen many unprovoked attacks such as this and each one seems more disturbing than the last,” New Jersey State Policeman’s Benevolent Association Local 105 President William Sullivan said in a statement. “We actively prepare for situations like this, but it is unfortunately one of the realities that our officers have to face day in and day out.”
Sullivan explained that the officer may be forced to pay for his medical expenses out of pocket because of a state law that requires them to go on workers compensation when they are injured in the line of duty.
The officers receive 70% of their salary and must pay their portion of medical insurance which can range from $300 to $700 per month and if they are eligible for sick leave, those medical costs will be covered for a maximum of six months, Sullivan continued.
He said a bill that is making its way through the state legislature would increase that time period to a maximum of 12 months and called for the state to pass the legislation.
©2020 NJ Advance Media Group, Edison, N.J.
- Officer Safety